Moto3: Race Results Japanese Motegi Grand Prix 2012

Saturday, October 13, 2012
Danny Kent has taken his first ever grand prix win after a dramatic final lap at Motegi, Japan.

Six riders were in victory contention at the start of the last lap, until Luis Salom collided with leader Jonas Folger after attempting to dive from fourth to first at turn one.

The collision, which left Folger fuming, is likely to be investigated by Race Direction.

The incident put Sandro Cortese into the race lead and, with Salom out and Maverick Vinales fourth, suddenly on target to win the world title!

But he couldn't escape, prompting Kent and Alessandro Tonucci to both outbraked Cortese at the end of the back straight, with just a few corners to go.

Pole sitter Kent got by cleanly, but Tonucci and Cortese tangled on the exit when the German tried to cut back under the Italian.

Cortese fell, but hung onto his sliding KTM - despite being clipped by Tonucci again - and finished sixth, while Kent won from Vinales and debut podium finisher Tonucci.

There were ugly scenes on the slowdown lap when a furious Cortese inexplicably took his anger out on team-mate Kent - shaking his fist and literally jumping up and down on his bike in rage.

Cortese then had a further tantrum in the Ajo pitbox, before discipline was finally restored by the factory KTM team and Cortese made to give a thumbs-up gesture towards Kent.

Cortese now holds a 56 point lead over Vinales and can wrap up the title if he leaves next weekend's Malaysian round with an advantage of at least 51 points.

UPDATE: MotoGP world champion Casey Stoner has posted the following message on his official Twitter page (@Official_CS27):

"Hearing some things around the paddock that only a few of @DannyKent52 team were at the podium. They should be ashamed of themselves if they think Danny had anything to do with Sandro's crash. Disappointed to hear that kind of team behaviour. Well done again Danny!"

Moto3: Race Results Japanese Motegi Grand Prix 2012

1. Danny Kent GBR (KTM) 40m 2.775s

2. Maverick Viñales SPA (FTR Honda) 40m 3.035s

3. Alessandro Tonucci ITA (FTR Honda) 40m 5.127s

4. Alex Rins SPA (Suter Honda) 40m 6.179s

5. Zulfahmi Khairuddin MAL (KTM) 40m 6.420s

6. Sandro Cortese GER (KTM) 40m 16.169s

7. Miguel Oliveira POR (Suter Honda) 40m 18.298s

8. Louis Rossi FRA (FTR Honda) 40m 18.514s

9. Efren Vazquez SPA (FTR Honda) 40m 18.721s

10. Romano Fenati ITA (FTR Honda) 40m 18.904s

11. Arthur Sissis AUS (KTM) 40m 18.998s

12. Niccolò Antonelli ITA (FTR Honda) 40m 19.146s

13. Niklas Ajo FIN (KTM) 40m 31.143s

14. Alex Marquez SPA (Suter Honda) 40m 31.150s

15. Jakub Kornfeil CZE (FTR Honda) 40m 31.284s

16. Hyuga Watanabe JPN (Honda) 40m 33.846s

17. Adrian Martin SPA (FTR Honda) 40m 43.067s

18. Kenta Fujii JPN (TSR Honda) 40m 45.597s

19. Jack Miller AUS (Honda) 40m 45.671s

20. Alan Techer FRA (TSR Honda) 40m 50.226s

21. John McPhee GBR (KRP Honda) 40m 51.020s

22. Luca Amato GER (Kalex KTM) 40m 51.134s

23. Isaac Viñales SPA (FTR Honda) 40m 51.214s

24. Josep Rodriguez SPA (FGR Honda) 41m 6.537s

25. Giulian Pedone SWI (Suter Honda) 41m 13.065s

26. Danny Webb GBR (Mahindra) 41m 13.259s

27. Yuudai Kamei JPN (Honda) 1 lap

Powered by Blogger.