Moto2: Early lap gives Marquez pole in Le Mans

Saturday, May 19, 2012
Marc Marquez has taken pole position for the French Moto2 Grand Prix in the changeable weather conditions at Le Mans. Spaniard Marquez will be aiming for his 20th grand prix victory from pole position in the French Moto2 grand prix at Le Mans. The Suter CatalunyaCaxia Repsol team rider set an early lap of 1:37.710 which remained unchallenged, he also suffered a crash into the gravel at Garage Vert with 24 minutes remaining. The changeable conditions made it tricky for the riders to improve and most set their best times early on. Swiss rider Tom Luthi was one of the few riders to improve, after the first spots of rain had fallen he moved into second on his Suter for the Interwetten Paddock team. Pol Espargaro, who had the fastest combined practice time for the Pons 40 HP Tuenti team, completes the top three on his Kalex. Scott Redding qualifies in fourth on the Kalex for the Marc VDS Team, he had been fastest in practice on Saturday. His session finished early with a late crash in the gravel shortly before the chequered flag came out. Team mate Mika Kallio also faired well, finishing the session sixth. Italian Andrea Iannone was the only rider who made a leap up the positions in the closing minutes, moving his Speed Master up into fifth as the rain fell, living up to the new 'maniac' nickname he has put on his leathers. The experienced Alex DeAngelis qualified seventh for the Forward racing team, while class rookie Johann Zarco for JIR starts his home grand prix in eighth. Claudio Corti is in ninth for the Italtrans team. Spain's Toni Elias makes his 200th grand prix start from tenth on the grid for the Mapfre Aspar team. Bradley Smith's 100th grand prix start will be from 19th for Tech3 for their home grand prix, he is set to become the youngest British rider to reach that milestone, while his team mate Xavier Simeon finishes 21st after his bike appeared to hit him when he crashed. British rider Gino Rea on his Federal Oil Gresini qualified 24th after changing chassis from Moriwaki to Suter, out qualifying his Thai Honda sponsored colleague Ratthapark Wiliarot who came in 29th Home rider Mike DiMeglio for Speed Master came 23rd after crashing at turn 3 with 20 minutes left on the clock. Julian Simon qualified in 11th on the Bluesens Avintia Suter, while fellow former 125cc champion Nico Terol starts from17th on the grid for the Mapfre Aspar team. Qualifying: 1. Marc Marquez SPA (Suter) 1m 37.710s 2. Thomas Luthi SWI (Suter) 1m 37.739s 3. Pol Espargaro SPA (Kalex) 1m 38.190s 4. Scott Redding GBR (Kalex) 1m 38.369s 5. Andrea Iannone ITA (Speed Up) 1m 38.399s 6. Mika Kallio FIN (Kalex) 1m 38.574s 7. Alex De Angelis RSM (Suter) 1m 38.662s 8. Johann Zarco FRA (MotoBI) 1m 38.752s 9. Claudio Corti ITA (Kalex) 1m 38.795s 10. Toni Elias SPA (Suter) 1m 38.826s 11. Julian Simon SPA (Suter) 1m 38.827s 12. Dominique Aegerter SWI (Suter) 1m 38.863s 13. Randy Krummenacher SWI (Kalex) 1m 38.880s 14. Simone Corsi ITA (FTR) 1m 38.961s 15. Ricard Cardus SPA (AJR) 1m 39.061s
Powered by Blogger.